Handel’s Messiah (Wigmore Hall, 23 December 2012)

This memorable and dramatically charged performance of Handel’s perennial masterpiece took place at London’s Wigmore Hall in December 2012. Featuring a choir of just eight and an orchestra of fourteen, this rendition is a far cry from the traditional ‘massed choir’ approach, but The Mozartists bring their trademark dynamism and dramatic flair to this miraculous music in a performance that lifts the roof in all the right places while also finding moments of heartfelt intimacy and repose. A hand-picked choir comprising eight of the UK’s finest consort singers were joined by an outstanding line-up of soloists.

Sophie Bevan (soprano)
Christopher Ainslie (countertenor)
Allan Clayton (tenor)
Jacques Imbrailo (baritone)

Ian Page (conductor)

1 Symphony (Grave – Allegro moderato)
2 Accompagnato, “Comfort ye, my people” – Allan Clayton (tenor)
3 Air, “Ev’ry valley shall be exalted” – Allan Clayton (tenor)
4 Chorus, “And the glory of the Lord”
5 Accompagnato, “Thus saith the Lord” – Jacques Imbrailo (baritone)
6 Air, “But who may abide the day of his coming” – Christopher Ainslie (countertenor)
7 Chorus, “And he shall purify”
8 Recit., “Behold, a virgin shall conceive” – Christopher Ainslie (counternor)
9 Air & Chorus, “O thou that tellest good tidings” – Christopher Ainslie (countertenor)
10 Accompagnato, “For behold, darkness” – Jacques Imbrailo (baritone)
11 Air, “The people that walked in darkness” – Jacques Imbrailo (baritone)
12 Chorus, “For unto us a Child is born”
13 Pifa
14 Recit., “There were shepherds abiding in the field” – Sophie Bevan (soprano)
15 Accompagnato, “And suddenly there was” – Sophie Bevan (soprano)
16 Chorus, “Glory to God in the highest”            
17 Air, “Rejoice greatly, o daughter of Zion” – Sophie Bevan (soprano)
18 Recit., “Then shall the eyes of the blind” – Christopher Ainslie (countertenor)
19 Duet, “He shall feed his flock like a shepherd” (alto, soprano)
20 Chorus, “His yoke is easy, his burthen is light”

21 Chorus, “Behold the Lamb of God”
22 Air, “He was despised” – Christopher Ainslie (countertenor)
23 Chorus, “Surely, He hath borne our griefs”
24 Chorus, “And with His stripes we are healed”
25 Chorus, “All we like sheep have gone astray”
26 Accompagnato, “All they that see Him” – Allan Clayton (tenor)
27 Chorus, “He trusted in God”
28 Accompagnato, “Thy rebuke hath broken His heart” – Allan Clayton (tenor)
29 Arioso, “Behold, and see if there be any sorrow” – Allan Clayton (tenor)
30 Accompagnato, “He was cut off out of the land” – Allan Clayton (tenor)
31 Air, “But Thou didst not leave His soul in hell” – Allan Clayton (tenor)
32 Chorus, “Lift up your heads”
33 Recitative, “Unto which of the angels” – Allan Clayton (tenor)
34 Chorus, “Let all the angels of God worship Him”
35 Air, “Thou art gone up on high” – Christopher Ainslie (countertenor)
36 Chorus, “The Lord gave the word”
37 Air, “How beautiful are the feet of them” – Sophie Bevan (soprano)
38 Chorus, “Their sound is gone out into all lands”
39 Air, “Why do the nations so furiously rage” – Jacques Imbrailo (baritone)
40 Chorus, “Let us break their bonds asunder”
41 Recitative, “He that dwelleth in heaven” – Allan Clayton (tenor)
42 Air, “Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron” – Allan Clayton (tenor)
43 Chorus, “Hallelujah”

44 Air, “I know that my Redeemer liveth” – Sophie Bevan (soprano)
45 Chorus, “Since by man came death”
46 Accompagnato, “Behold, I tell you a mystery” – Jacques Imbrailo (baritone)
47 Air, “The trumpet shall sound” – Jacques Imbrailo (baritone)
48 Recitative, “Then shall be brought to pass” – Christopher Ainslie (countertenor)
49 Duet, “O death, where is thy sting? – Christopher Ainslie (countertenor) & Allan Clayton (tenor)
50 Chorus, “But thanks be to God”
51 Air, “If God be for us who can be against us – Sophie Bevan (soprano)           
52 Chorus, “Worthy is the Lamb, that was slain”
53 Chorus, “Amen”       


23 Dec 2012