1771 – A Retrospective (to be rescheduled)

We are sad to announce that this concert has had to be postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic. We look forward to announcing the new date in due course.

Ian Page’s visionary MOZART 250 series continues to build a widespread and highly enthusiastic following. The first of our concerts in 2021 takes place on Mozart’s birthday, and is a diverse and illuminating overview of the musical year 1771. It features an exquisite selection of works by Mozart, Mysliveček, Boccherini and Salieri, culminating in Haydn’s tempestuous ‘Trauer’ symphony, whose elegiac slow movement the composer was said to have wanted to be performed at his funeral. The mezzo-soprano soloist in arias by Mysliveček and Salieri is former BBC New Generation Artist Kitty Whately, and Ian Page conducts our outstanding period-instrument orchestra. 

“It is hard to think of a more valuable or ambitious long term musical project than Ian Page and Classical Opera’s Mozart 250.” 

Mozart Symphony in F major, K.75
Mysliveček Aria, “Non so se il mio peccato” from Adamo ed Eva
Boccherini Minuet from String Quintet in E major, G.275
Salieri “E non degg’io seguirla… “Lungi da te” from Armida
Haydn Symphony No. 44 in E minor, ‘Trauer’


Ian Page

Kitty Whately


27 Jan 2021


Full concert will last around 70-80 mins
7:30 pm
Cadogan Hall, London


Cadogan Hall, London